Nadal honored for sportsmanship at ATP awards


LONDON — Rafael Nadal won his second consecutive Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award and third overall Thursday, based on voting by other players, while Andy Murray was chosen the ATP’s 2019 comeback player of the year.

Murray, a three-time Grand Slam champion and former No. 1, said in January he thought he would retire this season because of a bad hip. But he wound up having a second operation and returned to the tour, winning a singles title and a doubles title.

Other honorees from the men’s tour included US Open semifinalist Matteo Berrettini, chosen as most improved player after rising to No. 8 in the rankings from No. 54; 18-year-old Jannik Sinner, picked as newcomer of the year; and Gilles Cervara, who earned coach of the year honors after helping Daniil Medvedev reach nine finals, including a runner-up finish to Nadal at Flushing Meadows.

Kevin Anderson received the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award.

The International Tennis Federation also announced its year-end awards Thursday, with year-end No. 1s Nadal and Ashleigh Barty named ITF World Champions.

It’s Nadal’s fourth selection; Barty’s first.


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Park builds 2-shot lead in LPGA season opener
Coco has nothing to lose in rematch with Osaka
Promoter Warren denies Joshua-Wilder fight talk
Who should be next for Conor McGregor, Donald Cerrone?
Kristian Clarke’s redemption song brings joy to New Zealand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.