New Zealand bowl after delayed toss, Wagner plays; Ishant injured


New Zealand chose to bowl v India

New Zealand won their second toss of the series, and asked India to bat on a green Hagley Oval pitch after a rain-enforced delayed start to play. The last time New Zealand lost a home Test after winning the toss was way back in 2009.

If that was a daunting statistic for India, they needed to beat those odds with their best bowler from last week sitting out. Ishant Sharma sprained his ankle again, one Test into what was a miraculous, ahead-of-time recovery from a grade-three tear. Umesh Yadav replaced him. That also weakened India’s lower-order batting, which meant Ravindra Jadeja replaced R Ashwin as the only spinner in India’s XI.

New Zealand didn’t bother with a spinner at all. Neil Wagner was back after his paternity leave, but New Zealand didn’t want to leave out Kyle Jamieson, who had a great debut in Wellington. Ajaz Patel missing out for Wagner was the only change for New Zealand.

India 1 Mayank Agarwal, 2 Prithvi Shaw, 3 Cheteshwar Pujara, 4 Virat Kohli (capt.), 5 Ajinkya Rahane, 6 Hanuma Vihari, 7 Rishabh Pant (wk), 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Mohammed Shami, 11 Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand 1 Tom Latham, 2 Tom Blundell, 3 Kane Williamson (capt.), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Henry Nicholls, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Colin de Grandhomme, 8 Kyle Jamieson, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Neil Wagner, 11 Trent Boult


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Halep: No pain in hurt foot, but tennis still on hold
NASCAR delays debut of Next Gen car until 2022
Loss of pro days makes it harder for NFL teams to find next Austin Ekeler
The magic of Wimbledon lives on even without play this year
Which active players are headed to the Hall? Our choice for every NBA team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.