Paris-Roubaix: Philippe Gilbert wins fourth ‘monument’ title of career

Philippe Gilbert

Belgium’s Philippe Gilbert won the Paris-Roubaix to secure the fourth ‘monument’ title of his career.

Former world champion Gilbert beat Germany’s Nils Politt in a sprint finish to win the 257km race in five hours 58 minutes two seconds.

Gilbert’s compatriot and Deceuninck-Quick-Step team-mate Yves Lampaert finished third.

The five monuments are cycling’s most prestigious one-day races – Gilbert has won them all except the Milan-San Remo.

“I still have this dream to win all of them. Little by little I’m getting there,” Gilbert said.

The 36-year-old made his first move with 70km remaining and easily outsprinted his closest rival Politt to ensure victory.

“Politt’s very courageous. In the end the best rider won, and thankfully it was me,” Gilbert added.

“I’ve always wanted to win all the monuments, and I’m getting closer now.”

Only four riders have won all five monuments, the most recent being Ireland’s Sean Kelly who won at Milan-San Remo in 1986 to complete the five.

Paris-Roubaix results

1. Philippe Gilbert (Bel/Deceuninck-Quick Step) 5hrs 58mins 02secs

2. Nils Politt (Ger/Katusha-Alpecin) Same time

3. Yves Lampaert (Bel/Deceuninck-Quick Step) + 13secs

4. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel/EF Education First) +40secs

5. Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe) +42secs


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Tenn. St. QB faces rape, sexual battery charges
Leipzig spoil promoted Union’s Bundesliga debut
Thomas turns it around, shares lead at Medinah
Really, the Cubs’ bullpen could (should?) be a strength down the stretch
Jantjies confident of Sprinboks’ World Cup plans

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.