Tour of the Basque Country: Adam Yates takes final stage as Ion Izagirre wins event

Adam Yates

Britain’s Adam Yates won the final stage of the Tour of the Basque Country as Spain’s Ion Izagirre claimed overall victory.

Mitchelton-Scott rider Yates made his move in the final three kilometres to win in two hours 59 minutes 46 seconds.

Ireland’s Dan Martin trailed Yates by just one second, with Astana’s Jakob Fuglsang third.

Yates, 26, finished fifth in the overall standings, 51 seconds behind Astana rider Izagirre.

Team Emirates rider Martin finished second overall.

“There were around 60 to 65 kilometres to go and the pace was super hard but luckily I had some team-mates there to really push the pace,” Yates said.

“I attacked in the final three or four kilometres and managed to win. It was a great day, a crazy day.”

Tour of the Basque Country final positions

1. Ion Izagirre (Spa/Astana) 19hrs 23mins 09secs

2. Dan Martin (Ire/UAE Team Emirates) +29secs

3. Jakob Fuglsang (Den/Astana) +36secs

4. Emanuel Buchmann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) +43secs

5. Adam Yates (GB/Mitchelton-Scott) +51secs


Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Downhill mountain bike World Championship: Britain’s Rachel Atherton unable to defend title
‘Smooth transition’ and a lasting legacy on Ravi Shastri’s mind
Red Sox seek second opinion as Sale lands on IL
Really, the Cubs’ bullpen could (should?) be a strength down the stretch
Lee, ATP’s 1st deaf player, wins in North Carolina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.