Mickelson: No disrespect intended by decision

Golf

SOUTHAMPTON, N.Y. – In an apparent act of frustration, Phil Mickelson chased after his moving ball on the 13th green Saturday at Shinnecock Hills and struck it before it could get farther from the hole.

Doing so is a breach of Rule 14.5 which prohibits a player from hitting a moving ball. It’s a two-stroke penalty and in some cases could lead to disqualification. Mickelson, who was celebrating his 48th birthday on Saturday, continued to play on.

“One of our rules officials spoke to him to inform what we had looked at on video and of our decision,” John Bodenhamer, Senior Managing Director of championships and governance for the USGA told reporters. “We informed him it was a two-stroke penalty and he said ‘Thank you’ and moved ahead with his round.”

Mickelson was given a 10 for the par-4 hole. He was attempting a bogey putt when he missed it badly to the right of the hole, then chased after it as it moved down a slope. The 5-time major champion then struck the ball back at the hole, saw it lip out, then marked it before playing his next shot. It appeared that he took 8 strokes before the two-stroke penalty was added. He was 9 over for the round at that point.

Advertisements

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

PFL 4: Playoff format fuels deluge of first-round finishes
Venus Williams commits to play San Jose again
Cozart to undergo another shoulder procedure
20 MMA thoughts, including why doubting Faber was a major mistake
Tiger says Masters took toll as he crams for Open

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *